FACTS SHEET

Texas Transportation Code

Sub Chapter P. Automatic Suspension for Certain Drug Offenses
Sections 521.371 - 521.374

Drug Offenses

Why is my license suspended?

1. A conviction for a drug offense. A person’s license is automatically suspended upon final conviction of a
drug offense (which does NOT have to occur while operating a motor vehicle). The suspension period for an .
adult is 180 days. In addition, a drug education program is automatically required and must be completed
within the 180-day suspension period or the license remains suspended until such time as a certificate of
completion is received by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).

For persons under the age of 21, the period of suspension ranges from 180 days to one year, depending on
the type of offense, and the convicting court determines whether the drug education program will be
required. '

NOTE: A person who does not hold a Texas Driver License at the timé of conviction will be prohibited from
obtaining a Texas Driver License for a period of 180 days. The prohibition period will not begin until the
person makes contact with DPS for the issuance of a driver license or for reinstatement of driving privileges for
non-residents.

Reinstatement requirements

* A $100 reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.

* File proof of insurance (form SR-22) with your insurance company for two years from date of conviction and
submit to the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). )

* Adults convicted of a drug offense are required to complete a drug education program. Certificatc of
completion must be forwarded to DPS,

SR-22 Information

1. What is an SR-22 and how can I obtain an SR-22?
An SR-22 insurance policy is a certificate of insurance that shows the Texas Department of Public Safety
(DPS) proof of insurance for the future, as required by law. SR-22 insurance is not necessarily “high risk”
insurance. It is motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to
DPS, and the insurance company must notify DPS anytime the policy is cancelled, terminated or lapses.
Please contact an insurance agent/company of your choice who is authorized to write liability insurance for
the State of Texas.

2. If I do not own a car, how can an SR-22 be obtained? v
You do not need to own a car to buy this kind of insurance. If you do not own a car, please contact an
insurance agent/company of your choice and talk to them about a non-pwner SR-22.

3. Can an insurance card or insurance policy be accepted toward the requirement of filing the SR-22?
No, when proof of financial responsibility is required, form SR-22 must be filed to meet the compliance
requirements.



4. How long is proof of financial responsibility (SR-22) required in accident, conviction or judgement cases?
The SR-22 is required for 2 years from the date of accident, date of conviction or date the judgement was rendered.

S. What happens if my SR-22 is cancelled?
Once the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) received notification from the insurance company that the
policy is cancelled, terminated, or lapses appropriate enforcement action may be taken. If the SR-22 is still required
and there is not a valid SR-22 on file, the driving privilege and vehicle registration is suspended.

Delinquent Child Support Revocation
Why is my license revoked?

1. Delinquent Child Support. When the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) receives an order from the Texas
Attorney General’s office suspending the person’s driver license for delinquent child support, the license will be
revoked. The revocation remains in effect until the Attorney General’s office or the Court orders DPS to reinstate
the license.

Suspension Notification

1. Why wasn’t I notified of my license suspension?
All notices and orders regarding license suspension actions are mailed to the address on record with the Texas
Department of Public Safety (DPS). It is extremely important for a person to keep their driver license mailing
address updated with DPS. Per Texas Transportation Code 521.054, an address change must be submitted to the
Department within 30 days of moving. You may obtain a Change of Address Form DL-64. A change of address
card submitted to the post office does not change the address on a driver license.

Basin Drug Offender Education Program

Jerry Ann Palmer

806 N. Dixie

QOdessa, Texas 79761

432-580-7622

Program Type: Drug Offender Education Program
Fee: $80 every other month beginning October 2009

Palmer Drug Abuse Program

Frank Janousek

1208 W. Wall St.

Midland, Texas 79701

432-685-3645

Program Type: Drug Offender Education Program
Fee: $150

Alpha Recovery Centre

Patricia Aguilar

4500 W lllinois, Suite 205

Midland, Texas

432-520-1510

Program Type: Drug Offender Education Program
Fee: $125



